Dropbox is a service that lets you bring all your photos, documents, and videos anywhere, and share them easily. Any file you save to your Dropbox will automatically save to all your computers, your phone or iPad, and the Dropbox website. Dropbox also makes it easy to share with others.
The add-on pane of the Dropbox add-on now has a new section at the bottom which looks similar to this:
As you can see there are three sections showing the currently installed version, the latest stable version available from Dropbox and the current beta version in testing by Dropbox.
Below those version numbers there may appear different buttons. The first one, Enable auto-update does exactly that, it enables the automatic update of your Dropbox client on the ReadyNAS to the latest stable version. This also means that auto-updates are disabled by default. When auto-updates are disabled, the add-on will try to detect pushed updates by Dropbox and silently delete those. However, this won't work under certain conditions.
For example if Dropbox pushes an update and the ReadyNAS is powered down before the add-on does its check, the update will most likely get installed on the next startup of the ReadyNAS. While this was a problem in earlier versions because Dropbox tried to install a 64bit version of their client on the ReadyNAS, the add-on now tries really hard to detect a broken 64bit install and replace it with a working 32bit one. However, to make as sure as possible that this will work with whatever version was pushed, it will use the same revision as was installed by the auto-update, thereby actually doing an upgrade even if the user didn't want that to happen.
In the middle section you can see the Upgrade to latest button. Using this you can manually upgrade your Dropbox client to the latest stable version offered by Dropbox. Once you do this or when your installed version already matches the latest release, this button will not be available and the add-on pane will look similar to this picture:
In the rightmost column there's the Upgrade to testing button. This allows you to update your Dropbox client on the ReadyNAS to the latest version currently in public beta testing by Dropbox. Use this with care. Dropbox may decide to change internal database formats or other structures that may cause your Dropbox to fail or prevent you from safely downgrading to the stable version again. That said, after clicking the button the information displayed by the add-on should change to something like this:
So as you can see, in the second column there's now a Downgrade to stable button. Using this you can again switch back to the latest stable version, provided there weren't any incompatible changes introduced by the beta. So again: Before using a beta version make sure you can go back. Please.
Normally, any ReadyNAS add-on will be active right after installation. This is not the case with the Dropbox add-on. The reason for this is that you have to first tell it what user accounts on your ReadyNAS are going to have the Dropbox service enabled. To do all that the Dropbox add-on comes with it's own configuration pane which is located in the Installed Add-Ons section of FrontView.
After installation of the add-on you can access the central management portion of the add-on by clicking on the "Installed Add-Ons" link in FrontView's left menu panel. Depending on how many add-ons are installed on your ReadyNAS already you will have to scroll down a bit to reach the DropBox entry.
As you will notice the configuration pane is split into three parts: the description of the add-on, a global dropbox section and a section for the personal dropboxes. In the personal dropbox all user accounts with a personal home directory defined on your ReadyNAS are listed. Please note that although the Dropbox service may be shown as active (checkbox is ticked in the upper left corner) no service instance is running (no green lights anywhere).
To demonstrate the actions necessary to enable a dropbox on your ReadyNAS we will now enable the Global Dropbox. The steps for a personal dropbox are essentially the same except for the fact that you can't turn a personal dropbox into a share. To enable the Global Dropbox just click on the "Enable" button to its right. You will be prompted whether you really want to enable this dropbox and if you are sure that you do, click on "OK".
The Dropbox add-on will now enable the service which in case of the Global Dropbox is linked to the "admin" user as the next popup will tell you. Of course if you enable a personal dropbox, this will be linked to the user you choose when enabling the dropbox. Please note that for every user you enable the Dropbox service for a separate daemon process is started. Although they usually don't require a lot of CPU power or RAM resources there may be slowdowns while the initial contents of the remote dropboxes is transferred.
After starting the Dropbox service for any user or the Global Dropbox it may take a while for the control pane to catch up with the changes. Usually all changes are reflected within 20 seconds or so after which you should see some green lights coming on. For a new dropbox you will also see a blue link icon. This indicates that the Dropbox service is ready but not yet linked to any Dropbox account. As shown in the picture you can get some status information by hovering your mouse over the different icons.
To link the local Dropbox service with a Dropbox account, just click on the blue link icon. You will be presented with a popup message which contains an URL and some additional information. You have to copy and paste the URL shown into your browser's address bar.
Please note that if you stop and later on restart the Dropbox service for a local dropbox on your ReadyNAS that hasn't been linked to an account yet, the URL will change on every restart.
Once the URL is copied to your browser's address bar and you pressed "Enter" you will be taken to the Dropbox website. If you are already logged in you will just have to enter your Dropbox account's password to activate the link between the Dropbox service on the ReadyNAS and your dropbox. Otherwise you will have to authenticate (or create a new account) first.
If all went well, you will see a green notice on the top of your browser window telling you that the remote dropbox was successfully linked to the account.
Returning to FrontView you should after a couple of seconds see the blue link icon turning into a green light. This indicates that the local Dropbox daemon on your ReadyNAS has successfully connected and linked to your Dropbox account and started synchronizing the contents.
To finally make the Global Dropbox available as a share on your network, switch to the "Shares" -> "Add Shares" pane in FrontView. There add a new share with the name Dropbox (take care of proper capitalization), insert a nice description and if you want to further restrict access untick the Public Access checkbox. Once you click the "Apply" button the share will be made available to all (public access) or just some users.
Enabling personal dropboxes works essentially the same way. The only difference is that you can't turn them into a share like you can do with the Global Dropbox. Using the "Stop" buttons next to each active Dropbox service you can temporarily disable the service either for the Global Dropbox or any individual dropbox. Likewise, the "Disable" button will stop and disable the service, meaning that the Dropbox daemon for that particular dropbox won't be started automatically on a system restart.
Actually these aren't real issues but known facts or intended behavior: